Fifth VISL v FVSL All-Star match set for Port Moody on Saturday afternoon

Fifth VISL v FVSL All-Star match set for Port Moody on Saturday afternoon

We are officially into the New Year and we’re definitely feeling the excitement in anticipation of what 2019 will have in store for football on the island.

Part of that excitement is the All-Star Summit competition between the VISL and FVSL (Fraser Valley Soccer League) in Port Moody on Saturday afternoon.

Locally, we have had All-Star competitions regularly, and for several divisions, for 15 years. The competition between these two Leagues playing under the BC Soccer umbrella is heading into its 5th year and is a good opportunity to acknowledge individual players, coaches, and referees for the personal progress over the course of the year.

Every year one league will travel to the other, with their top Men’s team as well as their top Masters Over 35 team. This year the VISL will travel to Port Moody’s Trasolini Turf to take on their FVSL counterparts, with the Masters match kicking off at 1pm, with the Men’s match kicking off two hours later.

Keeping in mind the standard challenges that amateur players face – families, jobs, time commitments – we are happy to have all make the sacrifice and time for these matches.

There are no points to play for or big money prizes, just a tiny bit of pride (ok, maybe a lot of pride), fierce competition, bragging rights, and camaraderie between the local Leagues when it is all said and done.

The FVSL All-Stars fought back from a 2-0 deficit on the island last year to level and take the match against the VISL All-Stars to penalties, before going on to win the shootout and claim the bragging rights. Can the island boys head to the Valley and get their revenge?

Here are the line-ups for both Men’s squads as they prepare for this year’s clash:


Aly Adeeb – Mid Isle Mariners
Ryan Ashlee – Bays United
Tarnvir Bhandal – Lakehill
Nicolas Budisa – Vic West
Dan Cato – Nanaimo United
Dan Citra – Mid Isle Mariners
Dorian Colopisis – Lakehill
Geoff Hackett – Nanaimo United
Mateo Kostering – Mid Isle Mariners
Gareth Langdon – Lakehill
Daniel Magog – Nanaimo United
Patrick Nelson – Bays United
Sam Prette – Saanich Fusion
Adam Ravenhill – Bays United
James Rhodes – Bays United
Steven Scott – Cowichan
Blair Sturrock – Lakehill
Nolan Wirth – Vic West


Goalkeepers: Mike Haladin – Abbotsford United / Andrew Hicks – Langley United

Defenders: Chris Attadia – Port Moody Gunners / Suhkjot Binning – Surrey United / Tammer Byrne – Abbotsford United / Josh Craig – Port Moody Gunners / Tyler Epp – Chillwack FC / Steve Gaffney – Langley United / Colton O’Neill – Abbotsford United / Justin Turner-Pearce – Coastal FC

Midfielders – Dave Adams – Surrey United / Raq Amijee – Surrey United / Mark Baldisimo – Coastal FC / Scott Barling – Langley United / Tyson Hunter – Abbotsford United / Tyler Rosenlund – Burnaby Firefighers / Adam Staschuk – Coastal FC / Mark Talisuna – Port Moody Gunners

Strikers: Cole Almond – Port Moody Gunners / Ethan Claiborne-Collins – Surrey Utd / Connor Hildebrant – Langley United / Graeme Meers – Port Moody Gunners / Jake Starheim – Coastal FC

Authored by: Vince Greco

VISL Executive Director

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.