Saanich set to host latest VISL v FVSL All-star matchups on Saturday (weather permitting!)

Saanich set to host latest VISL v FVSL All-star matchups on Saturday (weather permitting!)

If we are lucky, and the snow stays away just long enough, the Vancouver Island Soccer League (VISL) will showcase their top players with the All-Star games this Saturday, January 11th. All games will be played at Layritz Turf in Saanich, home of Prospect Lake Soccer Club.

Typically a great day for some players to get a soft entry back into what will be a grueling last haul towards the Island Championships and Provincial Cup. All league games are to resume next week.

While the feature games are against our rival Fraser Valley Soccer League (FVSL) friends, we also plan to showcase all of the VISL divisions by having some challenge matches that will include the best amateur players on the Island.

The feature match of the day will be at 4:30 pm, and it will be between the VISL Division 1 selects, and the FVSL Premier Division selects.

This should be a challenging match as the FVSL players and league are wanting to step towards achieving a first ever Provincial Cup Championship – something they came within 10 seconds of accomplishing two years ago, but had it slip from their fingertips by giving up a late equalizing goal, and eventually losing in extra time.

This is a very difficult thing to do, and the VISL has only been able to accomplish this many times because of the determination from teams like Vic West, Victoria Athletics, and most recently Gorge FC.

Here is the VISL squad (Defending Champions) that will take on the dark side from the Mainland:

GK Darian Achurch: Cowichan
GK Ethan May: Bays Utd
D Dorian Colopisis: Lakehill
D Ryan Ashlee: Bays Utd
D Bobby Eng: Bays Utd
D Adam Ravenhill: Bays Utd
D Alex Redpath: Bays Utd
D Colin Knight: Cowichan
M Wes Barrett: Lakehill
M Tarnvir Bhandal: Lakehill
M Matt Mehrassa: Nanaimo
M Colin Jacques: Nanaimo
M Dom Colantonio: Gorge
M Kye Taylor: Powell River Villa
M Sean Young: Westcastle
M Koby Greaves: Westcastle
F Paddy Nelson: Bays Utd
F Steven Scott: Cowichan
F Blair Sturrock: Lakehill
F Keenen Colley: Westcastle

Coach – Richard Fast – Bays Utd

At 2:30 pm, the VISL Masters (Defending Finalists) will take on the FVSL Masters.
Here is the updated squad that will look to keep the championship on the Island:

GK Chris Muller: Cowichan 49ers
D Stef Olcen: UVic Alumni
D Paul Vandenboomen: UVic Alumni
D Dean Anderson: UVic Alumni
D Ben Hooks: UVic Alumni
D Tyler Hughes: Cowichan 49ers
D Brett Saunders: UVic Alumni
M Chris Langdon: Castaways Juniors
M Sean Battistoni: UVic Alumni
M Anthony Porco: UVic Alumni
M Dean Forbes: Juan de Fuca Ghostfinger
M George Thomas: Cowichan 49ers
M Ryan Fusick: Cowichan 49ers
M Colin Ralph: Vic West H2X
F James McQueen: Castaways Juniors
F Simon Whitfield: Bays Utd Green
F Neall Rowlings: Cowichan 49ers
F Darcy Penner: Cowichan 49ers

Coach – Moreno Stefani – Uvic Alumni
Coach – Kevin James – Cowichan 49ers

The match at 12 pm will be the Division 2 VISL squad vs the Division 3 VISL squad. Here’s how both sets of Islanders line up for this one.

Division 2:

GK Iain Walker: Lakehill
GK Gavin Walman: Hellas
D Craig Robertson: Hellas
D Lyle Eggen: Hellas
D Eli Mavrikos: Hellas
D Anthony Bennett: Fernwood
D Brandon Molitwenik: Bays
M Drew Britton: Lakehill
M Aaron Murphy: Lakehill
M Lee Kamaretos: Hellas
M Elliot Mitrou: Hellas
M Chase Rhodes: Gorge
M Iker Navas: Gorge
M Brenden Nyhof: Gorge
F Darcy Lenton: Lakehill
F Nick Graham: Fernwood

Coach – Nav Jhawer – Hellas
Coach – Fernando Zilli – Hellas

Division 3:

GK Adam Guthridge: Campbell River
GK Elliot Mayer: Sooke
D Colin Rayner: Gorge Us Guys
D Luke Allen: Gorge Us Guys
D Chris Wick: Castaways
D Kyle Hendry: Vantreights
D Anthony Seville: Campbell River
D Nathan Denny: SFFC Forest
M Jordan French: Gorge Us Guys
M Steve Gateley: Gorge Us Guys
M Shaun Gurney: Vic West
M Alex Thammavong: Prospect Lake
M Brenden Liudzius: Gorge FC
M Paul Grieve: Gorge FC
F John Bakowski: Gorge Us Guys
F Jordie Hughes: Prospect Lake
F Braden Varney: Vantreights
F Christopher MacIsaac: Castaways
F Caelan MacEwan: Gorge FC
F Dylan Forsyth: Sooke

Coach – Geoff Pakos – Gorge Us-Guys

Our opening match of the day will be the Division 4 team vs the U21 team, and here’s the squads both of those teams.

Division 4:

GK Dekan Delaney: Bays Utd
GK James Spence: JDF Spartans
D Jonathon Lam: JDF Spartans
D Brian Hernandez: Castaways Invicta
D Alex Curtis: Bays Utd
D Rhys Wynn-Williams: Bays Utd
D Cole Robinson: Zgoda Juniors
M Paris Holland: JDF Spartans
M Gary Walsch: JDF Spartans
M Andrew Coopersmith: Castaways Invicta
M Noah Avila: Bays Utd
M Benjamin Avila: Bays Utd
M Jonny James: Zgoda JuniorsF Anthony Vieites: JDF Spartans
F Daniel StLaurent: JDF Spartans
F Jack Groucott: Castaways Invicta
F John Mossie: Bays Utd

Coach – Glen Williams – JDF Spartans
Coach – James Spence – JDF Spartans


GK Torin Lightbody: Prospect Lake
D Marcel Petrazelli: Prospect Lake
D Diego Corlazzoli: Mid Isle
D Matthew Coburn: Mid Isle
D Fraser Rideout: Mid Isle
M Kylan Barbon: Prospect Lake
M Kobe Chelini-Dheenshaw: Prospect Lake
M Mohammed Ibrahim: Westcastle
M Ben Chaswick: Westcastle
M Shane Brown: Mid Isle
M Brent Brown: Mid Isle
M Stephon Kriegel: Mid Isle
M Cameron Holman: Mid Isle
M Matt Brown: Nanaimo
F Nico Kahl: Prospect Lake
F Juan Rubiano: Westcastle
F Jackson Walch: Bays Utd
F Liam Franke: Bays Utd
F Colton Katila: Nanaimo

Coach – Bill Merriman – Mid Isle
Coach – James Merriman – Pacific FC

Prospect Lake will be providing a full concession as well as a Molson/Canadian beverage station for adults.

New VISL partner – Island Savings – will be in attendance with their community cruiser and some hot chocolate for the majority of the day.

The league will also have some tents up in case of wet weather, but encourage fans to bring an umbrella, see some old friends, make some new ones, and be part of the soccer community.

Let’s just hope the snow keeps away.

Authored by: Michael McColl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.